Shoot and Edit: Red, the edit

Well I missed the linkup on Thursday because I was dealing with a blizzard, losing power for 24 hours, trying to actually work, and entertaining a 5 year old with 2 snow days.  Last week was NOT the best I’ve had in recent memory.

Even though I missed the linkup I’m posting this picture anyway so I can hopefully look back over my progress as I get better at using Photoshop and learning to edit.  Here is my edited photo:

I would have preferred to keep the photo all color.  I played around with many different edits, but struggled with how to correct for the over-exposed yellow bucket in the original.  I couldn’t get it right…I think I’m supposed to apply a correction and using a layer mask paint off the correction everywhere else but I have no idea how to actually do that.  I think it’s time to buy a CS3 manual.

After several frustrating attempts I did this.  Which is OK.  I also think I need to get into the “less is more” mindset where editing is concerned.  If my original photo is OK I need to be OK not editing very much.  So much to learn!

Leave a Reply

