Shoot and edit: Hearts, the edit

So my Photoshop books arrived today.  Photoshop CS3 for Dummies by Barbara Obermeier and Teach Yourself Visually Photoshop CS3 by Mike Wooldridge.  I figured since I don’t know what I’m doing I’d better start learning fast.  There’s only so much I can pick up by reading blog posts (though it is amazing what I’ve learned so far, I have to admit).  If anyone else has suggestions for great Photoshop resources for beginners I’d love to hear some suggestions.

Here is my edited shot for shoot and edit this week.  Any and all suggestions and constructive criticisms are welcome, because really, let me be perfectly honest here – I have no idea what I’m doing.

I now have 4″ of Photoshop manuals however and plenty of willingness to use trial and error.  There’s only up from here.

7 Comments to “Shoot and edit: Hearts, the edit”

  1. I think what you’ve done here looks great. I think the whole learning process never stops. I’m still looking at tutorials on youtube and reading anything I can get my hands on. Just when I think I’ve seen it all, I’m taught something new.

  2. This looks nice…..Ash is right though, it’s seriously a never ending learning process!

  3. editing with PS will get easier and easier the more you do it. you did a great job 🙂

  4. 🙂 You sure made me smile!! Another book (if 4″ isn’t enough for you) would be to find your version of photoshop book by Scott Kelby — I have his for pse8 and it’s really helpful. But really, I leaned most of my stuff from everydayelementsonline.com (which that stuff translates over to ps pretty well) and from other blogs – besides trial/error. And some of the stuff I learned from blogs looked very similar if not the same as what was in the Scott Kelby book.

    And you know, I rather like your edit! Even if it’s snow ( haha! I’m so over winter!) Just keep working a little at a time!

    Michelle

  5. I totally understand how you feel! It can be really overwhelming. Just this week I started watching some tutorials on YouTube. I like the ones that actually talk you through what to do. Plus I’ve learned a lot from Ashley too! I think your edit looks great this week! Good job!

  6. Very cool shot! You have a lot of resources already but I highly recommend PS books by Scott Kelby (and his blog).

  7. Oh, and sorry — I kept meaning to come back and tell you this: To get the heart in the apples, take a sharp pointy knife (I used a paring knife) and gently “draw” a heart in the apple skin, just pushing the knife in far enough to pierce the skin, but not cut to much of the apple flesh. Then gently peal back the heart shaped piece of skin using the knife (like if you were pealing the apple anyway, but now you’re trying to peal in a specific shape.) then use the knife to even up the flesh. 🙂 Pretty easy!! Now… it’s you’re turn!! Pick a fruit, cut some shape and photograph it! Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

