Shoot and edit: love/romance, the edit

Things are starting to click….maybe.  I finally figured out how to do a layer mask, it was like the lightbulb went on.  And I actually understood most of Ashley’s tutorial today.  Progress!

Here is my edited shot:

Steps using Photoshop CS3:

  • Opened image as Camera Raw and adjusted white balance
  • Applied high pass filter with soft light blending mode
  • Performed curves adjustment (still not sure what I’m doing here but I darkened the darks and lightened the lights a bit)
  • Used Paint the Moon’s Whiten your Whites action and a layer mask to lighten the yellow cast that was on the wall behind the bookshelf

This was my SOOC shot:

Overall I think I’m pleased.  Any constructive criticism would be welcome!

8 Comments to “Shoot and edit: love/romance, the edit”

  1. Great edit! It made a huge difference!

  2. I like the tone of your edited shot!

  3. Yes!!! isn’t amazing when those masks finally click in our heads – I remember the satisfaction I felt when I first figured it out. I can see how you changed the colour of the wall and inbetween the shelves too – all in all a great edit.

  4. Great edit, that made a huge difference!

  5. You’re ahead of me… I don’t think I’ve figured out those pesky masks yet. 😉

    I really like how your edit turned out.

  6. So glad that things are starting to click – your edit is perfect…just the right amount of pop! Great work.

  7. Great! It looks perfect and natural. 😀

  8. i really think you did a great job too!

Leave a Reply

