Archive for March 19th, 2011

March 19, 2011

My Personal Manifesto

Since the new year I’ve been thinking about what I want out of life.  It’s one of the reasons I started this blog, as a place to keep track of my thoughts.  The OLW project has helped refine my thinking, as has my reading.  Finally in the last few weeks disparate thoughts have come together and I’ve created what I call my Personal Manifesto.

Live Intentionally – consistent with my Life’s Purpose.

Live Simply – free of clutter and “stuff”

Be Authentic – be myself, follow my heart, and don’t make choices according to what others expect or think I should do.

Be Mindful – Be in the present

Live by example – Practice what I preach, be a role model, be the person I want Matthew to learn how to be.  Act ethically and the way I would want to be treated.

Love – Actively demonstrate my love for Matthew and others in my life through my actions.

This list feels really good to me – something I can use as a roadmap when I am faced with a choice or decision – I can just decide which path best fits with the items I’ve outlined above.

A big part of this Manifesto is living consistently with my Life’s Purpose.  This is huge – wouldn’t it be great if we all lived in concert with our most cherished goals?  The hardest part for me is defining what it is my life’s purpose is all about.  That’s coming in a later post…I’m almost done articulating and refining what I think is a fair representation of it at this point in my life.